Infidelity

I’m glad the affair is over.  I admit it.  I come clean.  I was unfaithful.  I’m past it now and my marriage is back on safe grounds.  Barbara will never know about the affair and wouldn’t understand if I tried to explain it.  Oblivious of the danger, she’d just forget about the whole thing.  But I won’t forget.

It wasn’t a mere dalliance.  I fell hopelessly in love.  In our 30 years, Barb had never had any competition for my commitment to her.  Then I met this beautiful iMac computer.

From our first meeting, we both lit up when we came face to face.  I still see those alluring curves,  still feel those eager responses to my touch.  With every caress, something clicked.  It was awkward at first, but then we got to know each other’s moves.  We went on safari from one adventure to another.  When we were apart, all I thought about was getting back together.  

We began to spend more and more time together, often well into the night.  She had the strength of a lion.  Exhausted, I would withdraw and go for a walk in the dark.  Thirty minutes later I returned to my front door.  I entered quietly so the dog wouldn’t wake and start barking.  After a shower, I slipped into bed beside Barb and immediately plunged into darkness.

Weeks went by.  I started to neglect Barbara and it took its toll on me.  Guilt set in.  Patience disappeared.  I got mad at the drop of a hat.  This could not go on.  I would have to make a decision.  The affair had to end.  

It was a Sunday morning.  I sat down in front of the iMac for the last time.  One by one I removed all evidence that we had once been together.  Finally, I unplugged it and carefully packed it in the original box.  At the Apple Store I lied.  I told them we just weren’t compatible.  The young man behind the counter gave me a full refund.  He may have seen the tears in my eyes.

I have my old life back.  Barbara deserves and gets my full attention again.  I’ve returned to my valium pills and to Netflix.  Every few days I order something from Amazon … a book for the Kindle, some socks, a new frying pan, another box of bandages for my ailing foot.  

I’m glad the affair is over.  I admit it.  I come clean.  I was unfaithful.  I’m past it now and my marriage is back on safe grounds.  

–lg

